The Challenge of Achieving Accurate FC Timings

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author

Recently, I have been practicing the basic Fast Castle strategy in the game arena.

As a beginner, I am still learning and having fun with it.

I generally reach my feudal age at around 12:30 with a total of 26 villagers.

At this point, I create a blacksmith and market building, and start queuing villagers while only having about 600 food remaining.

However, even after gathering both boars, hunting the three deer, and using long distance hunting instead of dropping my second mill, I still struggle to collect enough food to progress to castle age with only 28 villagers.

I end up needing at least 32 villagers before I can progress.

I’m not sure why I’m not collecting enough food even with a reasonable distribution of villagers on wood, gold, and stone.

I tend to gather my sheep under the TC and only collect my boars a little later than most people.

I also tend to prioritize hunting over farming.

Despite managing to progress to castle age around 18:30, I feel it is not fast enough considering my objective of massing up units.

My usual timeline for constructing my first castle is around 20 mins.

Beneficial-Salt-8273

Remember every civ is different and some have bonuses which will make some of the following guidelines invalid… but for a standard civ (economically) you should
    – have four farms set well before clicking feudal
    – four on berries immediately after four in wood
    -all hunt should have been completed by the time you click up to feudal
    – while upping to feudal at least 4-5 on sheep
    – the rest of your vills should be on wood and a couple in gold or stone.
    – tip: eat the first sheep and lure all the deer next, lure the boars, then finish the rest of the sheep.

Again, depending on your civ some of the things I mentioned may not be necessary.

As you get better you will adjust as necessary