Advice on Learning Civs

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Hey everyone, I’m new to this game and I’m interested in learning about five to six different civilizations: Hindustanis, Poles, Portuguese, Gurjaras, and Japanese.

I find the unique units of the Japanese and Portuguese pretty cool, and I also like the unique mills of the Gurjaras and Poles.

I have heard that Hindustanis are a simpler option, but I’m not sure if that’s accurate.

I was hoping to get some advice or resources on how to learn about these civilizations, and which one I should focus on as a new player.

Additionally, if anyone has any tips or resources for playing ranked as a beginner, I would greatly appreciate it.

So far, I’ve gone through the Art of War tutorials and have played nine games, losing eight of them before managing to win one when my opponent had to leave.

yoothattack

Welcome!

I love Japanese they are somewhat underrated I think.

Despite being an “infantry” civ they are often played as an archer civ due to having fully upgradable archers.

Their pikes attack extra fast making them some of the best in the game.

Between archers, pikes, their faster shooting trebs, fine monks, and strong towers, they have fun options that work well.

I watch lots of spirit of the law and Hera’s guide to 2k very helpful
    Enjoy

Azot-Spike

Japanese are underrated imo, but very fun.

They have a very interesting m@a into archers opening, but you can also go for m@a into Towers (Yasama -Castle Age Crown- Japanese Towers are somthing to fear).

They can go double gold composition in castle Age (full upgrades on Xbows and Knights with Bloodlines/Husbandry to kill skirmishers or Mangonels), but they also have one of the best trash compositions (Halb + skirm + Siege).

Their Infantry is fearsome and trades well against Cavalry in Imperial Age.

enemy melee unique units are not a problem with Samurai and you have Hand Cannoneers for a quick support.